Compatibility between design platforms

Hi. I am a student in my final year and trying to decide on which design software I should focus on when complete.

My intension, if possible, is to work with an experience building designer part-time and work for myself the rest of the time.

During my studies we were taught Vectorworks and Revit. I have been offered two jobs lately, both requiring me to use ArchiCAD. Unfortunately I had to turn both jobs down.

My question here is, could PlusSpec be the answer to such software incompatibility issues? I know this is a fair open question and perhaps we don’t know yet, so let me be a little more specific.

Does exporting as an .IFC allow seamless opening of files with other major software? If so, how does a conversion manage component objects? Will all documentation remain in tact?

The purposed of this question is to determine if I can comfortable agree to take on jobs despite the software of choice by the company offering, simply by using PlusSpec with the confidence that it can accurately convert a file to other major design software formats, without any loss of data. The file of course would need to convert back to PlusSpec with the same accuracy.

Can PlusSpec deliver in this aspect? If not, is it likely to in the near future?

Hi Student,

Although PlusSpec/SketchUp can be integrated into other workflows, it is not an ideal design solution. The fact is that when you export/import (even with IFC), you create static objects, which are no longer editable or parametric. You can use IFC to communicate across platforms and with consultants - as much of their information is static in nature anyway (only they can edit - and most firms will just provide you with updates - not a ‘live’ document). With IFC your information should remain in tact. However, it is important to understand that with IFC there are two points of possible error creation - when the IFC is exported, and when it is imported.