Importing components to library

Welcome! Ask and get answered - or just introduce yourself.

Moderator: Daniel

Importing components to library

Postby jarredjohn » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:28 am

Hi,

I would like to add the Caroma tapware range to my component library. These models can be downloaded straight from their website.
How do I import these models with the ability to input pricing etc to each item that will register on the take-off?

Thanks in advance,
Jarred
jarredjohn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:25 am

Re: Importing components to library

Postby Grant » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:11 pm

Hi Jarred,

Thank you for your post.

To add components to your component library follow the steps below.

1) Download the components into a blank, new SketchUp model.
2) Use the PlusSpec BIM Tool to add additional info to each component, which will be what appears in the takeoff.
3) Right-click on a BIMed component and select 'Save As..' and then save them on your computer (e.g. My Documents or shared drive). Note: I would recommend to set up a folder structure so that the components can easily be found after they are saved to their respective areas.
4) Repeats Step 3 for each component.
5) Drag and drop the component you need into your model. It should then import into the model with all the info entered into the BIM Tool. The info can be view and edited by selecting the component and then selecting the BIM Tool.

Note: If you need to update the info for a component for next time, edit the component using the BIM Tool then repeat Step 3 to save the updated component.

Would you be able to please let me know if this works for you?
Kind Regards,
Grant
User avatar
Grant
Site Admin
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Importing components to library

Postby jarredjohn » Wed May 01, 2019 5:07 pm

Thanks Grant,

I will give it a shot and see how I go.

Sorry for the late response.

Cheers,
Jarred
jarredjohn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:25 am

Importing components to library

Postby Lucialix » Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:47 pm

Hi,

When I export project components into a .jar file it does not use the same folder name.
/BusinessObjects --> /BusinesObject
/Connectors --> /Connector
/Maps --> /NativeMap
... and so on

However when I import the .jar file into a project it does not copy the files to the right folder. Instead it copies the same folder structure that is inside the .jar file

Any idea of what could be wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Felipe
User avatar
Lucialix
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:21 pm
Location: Honduras


Return to New Users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests