Components

Post any found bugs here.

Moderator: Daniel

Components

Postby SamLanglar » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi guys,
Whenever I insert a component from the component tools (so far in kitchen & plumbing) it either doubles up or it inserts and if I try and move it across the wall, it then doubles up. I then get a bug splat!! This happens 95% of the time. If I insert, save and close the drawing then open it again, sketchup tells me there is something wrong in the drawing and fixes it and then either just the double or the whole lot has disappeared. This happen to me all the time and in any new drawing I begin, it is not just a one off in one file. Have you had this problem before?
component doubles.JPG
component doubles.JPG (53.64 KiB) Viewed 4524 times

component doubles bug splat.JPG
component doubles bug splat.JPG (134.37 KiB) Viewed 4524 times

component doubles bad.JPG
component doubles bad.JPG (23.92 KiB) Viewed 4524 times
Cheers Sam
(Windows 8.1/ Sketchup Pro2015/ PlusSPec v16.3.7)
SamLanglar
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 9:47 am
Location: Central Coast NSW

Re: Components

Postby Grant » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:59 am

Hi Sam,

Thank you for your post.

I haven't seen this issue before and I wasn't able to recreate it but what I would recommend to do is to reinstall PlusSpec and see if that fixes the issue. I fit doesn't can you please open the Ruby Console (go to Window > Ruby Console) then try to add a component to a model and send me the message that appears there?

Would you be able to please let me know if this fixes the issue you're having?
Kind Regards,
Grant
User avatar
Grant
Site Admin
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Components

Postby SamLanglar » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:32 pm

Hi Grant,
Silly question...how do I reinstall?
Cheers Sam
(Windows 8.1/ Sketchup Pro2015/ PlusSPec v16.3.7)
SamLanglar
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 9:47 am
Location: Central Coast NSW

Re: Components

Postby Grant » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:28 pm

Hi Sam,

To reinstall PlusSpec, go to our website and download the program again (either the EXE or RBZ file). The link to the page is below.

https://buy.plusspec.com/download

Next, follow the steps at one of the links below depending on whether you downloaded the PlusSpec EXE or RBZ.

EXE - https://buy.plusspec.com/assets/pdfs/win-7-exe.pdf
RBZ - https://buy.plusspec.com/assets/pdfs/rbz-win.pdf

Would you be able to please let me know if that fixes the issue you're having?
Kind Regards,
Grant
User avatar
Grant
Site Admin
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Components

Postby SamLanglar » Thu May 04, 2017 11:14 am

Hi Grant,
Sorry it took me so long to get back, very busy :)

I re installed PlusSpec as you said and in the link you said to follow I never saw anything about the ruby console come up, it just installed and I clicked next, agree and then finish.

Anyway, I went back in, inserted components on external wall and internal wall and the same thing happens, I get 2. If I try and move the component it moves one and leaves one there.
I then saved and closed and got a bugsplat and then when reopen file I get invalid message and then comes up with the moved components only.

Please see pictures below
components.JPG
components.JPG (53.63 KiB) Viewed 4446 times

components - bugsplat.JPG
components - bugsplat.JPG (122.91 KiB) Viewed 4446 times

component added with ruby console up after moving components.JPG
component added with ruby console up after moving components.JPG (37.4 KiB) Viewed 4446 times
Cheers Sam
(Windows 8.1/ Sketchup Pro2015/ PlusSPec v16.3.7)
SamLanglar
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 9:47 am
Location: Central Coast NSW

Re: Components

Postby SamLanglar » Thu May 04, 2017 11:14 am

and this is the end result after opening again
component added with ruby console up after moving components and reopen.JPG
component added with ruby console up after moving components and reopen.JPG (46.11 KiB) Viewed 4446 times
Cheers Sam
(Windows 8.1/ Sketchup Pro2015/ PlusSPec v16.3.7)
SamLanglar
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 9:47 am
Location: Central Coast NSW

Re: Components

Postby Grant » Thu May 18, 2017 10:01 am

Hi guys,

For anyone else getting this issue, if you install SketchUp 17 then reinstall PlusSpec it should fix this issue.
Kind Regards,
Grant
User avatar
Grant
Site Admin
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:50 pm


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest