Wall cleanups

Post your discussions and questions about PlusSpec here.

Moderator: Daniel

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby andrewc » Wed Sep 10, 2014 3:09 pm

Thanks guys, I think I have it after seeing your suggestions. What I wanted to do is grade the wall in live with the roof pitch. Just had to convert the wall to a gable!!!

2014-09-10_1509.png
2014-09-10_1509.png (236.41 KiB) Viewed 6936 times


:lol:
Attachments
2014-09-10_1509_001.png
2014-09-10_1509_001.png (135.93 KiB) Viewed 6936 times
Cheers,
Andrew
andrewc
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Townsville, QUEENSLAND

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby Andrew » Wed Sep 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Ahhh, now I understand. No problems mate. Don't forget to change the wall type back to standard when you draw your next lot of walls. PlusSpec remembers the last move. If you do do this it is easy to fix. Select one wall > right click > select connected walls > right click, edit wall. > change wall type.
Hope that helps.
Andrew
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:30 pm

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby andrewc » Wed Sep 10, 2014 4:07 pm

got it, ta!
Cheers,
Andrew
andrewc
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Townsville, QUEENSLAND

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby Andrew » Wed Sep 10, 2014 4:07 pm

Tip, draw all your walls as standard, if your walls create a loop you can right click > select connected walls > right click & select create roof form walls.
once the roof has been created you can then go and change you walls to gables or you can use the :redefine-wall: tool and do it manually. This will save you hours of time once you get the hang of it.
To create a gable after drawing with :roof-tool3: simply select the roof then :roof-pitch-tool: > this will create a gable on that section of roof.
I can do a video if that helps? Here is one I did previously:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucjSKw8mKm0&list=UU1spiJ6tjxtmXyd9j_wAdWw
Andrew
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:30 pm

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby StudioAware » Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:42 pm

Hi Andrew,

How did you draw the return in previous image that you posted?

Regards,
dp
StudioAware
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby andrewc » Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:51 am

@dp, me [Andrew] or Andrew D?

If you're referring to me I just drew the walls then edited it after by converting the wall to a left gable from the Construction mode dropdown........
Attachments
2014-09-11_0850.png
2014-09-11_0850.png (20.96 KiB) Viewed 6936 times
Cheers,
Andrew
andrewc
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Townsville, QUEENSLAND

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby StudioAware » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:30 pm

Andrew wrote:looking at your second drawing, I am not exactly sure what the problem is, can you draw it in PlusSpec so I can see the problem? Is it the texture on the end of the wall?
or is this what you are talking about..jpg


Hi Andrew,

How did you insert the return/end to the double brick cavity wall, shown in your screenshot?

Regards,

dp
StudioAware
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby StudioAware » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:32 pm

andrewc wrote:@dp, me [Andrew] or Andrew D?

If you're referring to me I just drew the walls then edited it after by converting the wall to a left gable from the Construction mode dropdown........



Hi Andrew. Apologies for the confusion. I meant it for PlusSpec Andrew.

Regards,

dp
StudioAware
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby Andrew » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:43 am

I used the single brick wall and drew a u shaped wall :-)
Andrew
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:30 pm

Re: Wall cleanups

Postby StudioAware » Thu Oct 16, 2014 2:49 pm

Hi Andrew,

Would it be possible to choose a wall that wont be connected to another, and change its attributes to have a return - or to have an end piece (if that makes sense)?

I notice for example, that if you draw an interior wall (unconnected) - it does not define the edges with lines. Therefore, in sections and elevations, the wall can be invisible.


Regards,

dp
StudioAware
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:10 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion and Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests