Drop to wall - other side of internal wall

Post your discussions and questions about PlusSpec here.

Moderator: Daniel

Drop to wall - other side of internal wall

Postby jwhida » Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:15 am

Hi,
Using the component tool i am trying to drop a 'cupboard' component to an internal wall.

My problem is it is on the wrong side of the internal wall, and I cant figure out how to put it on the correct side. Following the 'principle of least surprise' I tried using the arrow keys which modulate other component creation procedures such as walls, but that didn't seem to do anything in this case.

How do I drop a component to a specific side of an internal wall ?

Thanks
J
jwhida
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:00 am

Re: Drop to wall - other side of internal wall

Postby Dean » Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:22 am

Hi,

You actually had it correct. To switch the side of the Drop to Wall function you must use the 'Right-Arrow' Key on your keyboard.

You will notice that there is an orange line at the bottom of the wall when Dropping to a wall. When you tap the 'Right-Arrow' the orange line will swap sides.

I have created a video on doing this. Go to the link below -

https://youtu.be/YGgZLraANYo

Kind Regards
Dean
User avatar
Dean
PlusSpec Developer
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:25 am

Re: Drop to wall - other side of internal wall

Postby jwhida » Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:44 am

This doesn't work on my computer, which is not surprising given the other problems i have
jwhida
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:00 am

Re: Drop to wall - other side of internal wall

Postby Dean » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:59 am

Hi,

Are you running a Windows or MAC operating system?

Have you updated to the latest version of PlusSpec?

Could you please send a screen captured video to my email - dean@rubysketch.com

This will give myself the best idea to tackle the problem.

Kind Regards
Dean
User avatar
Dean
PlusSpec Developer
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:25 am

Re: Drop to wall - other side of internal wall

Postby jwhida » Tue May 03, 2016 7:36 am

Hi Dean,

I am using a Macbook pro. the same one that has the problems of PlusSpec causing Sketchup to hang if i ever edit a window or door.

2.4 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB Ram
AMD Radeon HD 6770M 1024 MB
MAC, OSX 10.11.2 (El Capitan),
Sketchup Pro 2016. 16.0.19913
PlusSpec v16.1.0-stage-dec

I have emailed you a link to a video
jwhida
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:00 am


Return to General Discussion and Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 10 guests