Question for Andrew: PlusSpec and the future of SKUP

Hi,

I am very interested in PlusSpec. I am a graduate architect (soon to be registered) - and also run my own design company. For the last two years, I have used SKUP solely, for all of my work (and have been using it for over the last 6 years as my main design tool) . This plug-in is definitely how I always envisioned SKUP to evolve.

I have two questions: Can you please clarify the pricing. I understand that the Pre-release is valued at $395, for an annual subscription, which will enable access to all product updates that occur within that 12 month licence (as well as ongoing support). Will the pricing stay at $395.00, or will it increase?

Secondly, it is my understanding that you met with Trimble, and that they were quite receptive to PlusSpec. As we all know, Timble has announced that the next addition of SKUP will maintain SKUP Make, but will also become industry specific (releasing versions for architects, engineers, wood-makers, etc) making it a full package software (construction documentation, etc). My question is this: From your discussions with Trimble and the SKUP team, will this next SKUP update make PlusSpec obsolete? Or, do you see Trimble integrating it? Or, do you think the next release of SKUP will have no negative impact on PlusSpec and what it offers?

Again, I am a big fan of PlusSpec - and whatever the future holds, this is the catalyst for change. Sketchup is the future! I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Regards,

dp

Who knows what Trimble will do… What we have now its just the beginning and what we have coming is even better. If Trimble decide to copy what we have done I would see it as a compliment.